Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance

Review: Wild, Wild Rake | The Cavesham Heiresses by Janna MacGregor

wild wildHer first marriage was an epic failure.

Lady Avalon Warwyck never did love her husband. Arrogant, selfish, and cruel, it’s a blessing when she’s widowed and left to raise her son all by herself. Finally, Avalon can live freely and do the work she loves: helping fallen women become businesswomen. She’s lived these past ten years with no desire to remarry―that is, until Mr. Devan Farris comes to town.

Can he convince her to take another chance at happily ever after?

Devan Farris―charming vicar, reputed rake, and the brother of Avalon’s son’s guardian―is reluctantly sent to town to keep tabs on Avalon and her son. Devan wishes he didn’t have to meddle in her affairs; he’s not one to trod on a woman’s independent nature and keen sense of convictions. But she’ll have nothing to do with vicar with a wild reputation―even though he’s never given his heart and body to another. If only he could find a way to show Avalon who he really is on the inside―a good, true soul looking for its other half. But how can prove that he wants to love and care for her. . .until death do they part?

4 Stars

Historical Romance | Regency | Adult Fiction

***Received an Advanced Readers Copy through TLCBookTour in exchange for an honest review***

I am a diehard fan of all things Janna MacGregor. Love her writing style. Probably one of my favorite authors in the historical romance genre – I don’t know, she is simply an author who never disappoints me if I am being honest. When I am craving something good, swoon worthy in the right spots with enough steam to melt me off the bed, yeah Janna is my go to for sure!

The characters – oh my lanta, this is what makes her writing style so amazing; her characters are always phenomenal. So realistic and easy to connect with. Avalon was everything. I loved the overall characteristic of this female lead. All the damage human, truly just broken. I find her incredibly empowering honestly. Devan on the other hand, he is meant to be this wicked man, but honestly he is probably the most sweetest man you could ever fall head over heels for! He is witty and charming, which is defintiely my favorite things in a high class gentlemen. 

Avalon and Devan also had a really slow building romance. This is something I definitely enjoy from time to time, for their particular personalities, I think the slow build was the right amount of dose for the romance. They really pushed and pulled towards one another throughout, which was super fun! I loved how their bickering turned into cute teasing that ultimately moved into a more flirtatious, romantic endearment. 

For me, I think the overall romance was simply easy to relate towards though and had such a powerful underlying message accompanying it. Both Avalon and Devan grow as characters in such a powerful way; both realizing how much they need to trust and learn from one another rather accepting the surface level. 

Bottom line, Wild, Wild Rake was the perfect read in the midst of a reading slump I found myself. It gave me a lot to really connect with, cry over and cheer all the more for. It was beautiful and fun, obviously swoon worthy chemistry. The ending was perfection for me. I loved it! 

Leave a comment